skip to content

Graduate students, Department of Engineering

The Graduate Studies Office (GSO) is based on the main Trumpington Street site, in room BEO-24, on the office floor of the Baker Building (just above reception). Please email to make an appointment if you would like to speak in person with one of the team.


Phone: 01223 (7)48230


GSO staff

Rachel MacDonald - Postgraduate Office Manager and Degree Committee Secretary
Ronald Collinson - Administrator (taught courses)
Louise Wilson - Administrator (admissions and finance)
Deborah Smethers - Administrator (front of house and research students examinations)
Laura Reed (Weds/Fri only) - Administrator (student records)


Other key staff

Bill O'Neill is the Deputy Head of Department (Graduates) and Chair of the Degree Committee

Allan McRobie and Athina Markaki are the department's graduate student mediators


Taught course contacts

Course name Email address
Engineering for Sustainable Development
Industrial Systems, Manufacture, and Management
Energy Technologies
Nuclear Energy
Machine Learning and Machine Intelligence
Future Infrastructure and Built Environment
Graphene Technology
Future Propulsion and Power (formerly Gas Turbine Aerodynamics)
Connected Photonic and Eletronic Systems (formerly Integrated Photonic and Electronic Systems)
Ultra Precision Engineering


Divisional staff (for research students)

Division Head of Division Divisional Administrator Divisional Administrator's Office Email address
A: Energy, Fluid Mechanics & Turbomachinery Prof Holger Babinsky Wendy Raymond BE2-03, main site
B: Electrical Engineering Prof Andrew Flewitt Sue Murkett/Lisa Davies CAPE-119
C: Design, Materials and Mechanics Prof Robin Langley Hilde Hambro BE3-38, main site
D: Civil Engineering Prof Simon Guest Alex Clark Room 241, Civil Engineering Building
E: Manufacturing and Management Prof Tim Minshall Maggie Harriss/Liz George (PhD students) Alan Reece Building
F: Information Engineering Prof Bill Byrne Rachel Fogg BNO-31, main site